• Check out all of the regional presentations for the Sir Paul Callaghan Eureka Awards

  • Follow the 2016 Awards

  • Eureka Awards Online Workshop

Sign up to get the latest updates

What is Eureka?

The mission of the Eureka Trust is to “identify and foster young leaders who through their knowledge of science, technology, engineering or mathematics, their entrepreneurial drive and persuasive communication skills will bring about the vision of New Zealand as foreseen by Sir Paul Callaghan”. We achieve this mission through the Sir Paul Callaghan Eureka Awards (Years 11 to Undergraduate), the Eureka Alumni and the Junior Eureka programme (Years 4 to 6).

The Sir Paul Callaghan Eureka Awards are a science, technology, engineering and mathematics speech competition that focuses on increasing New Zealand's economic, environmental and social wealth and well being. Students prepare for the Sir Paul Callaghan Eureka Awards using the Eureka Online workshop which contains everything they need to make a successful presentation. All students who compete in the National Final become part of the Eureka Alumni.

Junior Eureka is focused on educating students on how science and technology is being used in their local community and how to talk about science and technology with their friends and family.

Latest Eureka News

New Zealand could dramatically reduce outbreaks of invasive species if it selectively chose its international trade partners, research from Victoria University of Wellington suggests.

Secondary school and tertiary undergraduate students have just on a month to submit their entries for the 2016 Sir Paul Callaghan Eureka! Awards. Entries close on June 30. Once again students will be competing for prize money and scholarships worth more than $50,000. But more than the prize money the...

The Sir Paul Callaghan Eureka Awards 2016 is coming up fast and this is to update you on what is happening with Eureka. We have relaunched the Eureka website, eureka.org.nz, to make it easier to find the content you are looking for. By the end of April, we will have added...