Back to All Events

Sir Paul Callaghan Eureka! Awards: 2018 National Final - Open to the Public and Live on

  • Massey University 21 Buckle Street Wellington, Wellington, 6021 New Zealand (map)

The National Final is open to the public and will be streamed live on

Click Image to Enlarge

The National Final of the 2018 Sir Paul Callaghan Eureka Awards will see students from across the country present speeches on how science, technology, engineering and mathematics can increase New Zealand's economic, social and environmental wealth and well-being. 
The final will be livestreamed for those who cannot attend in person.


  • 12:00pm - Doors Open
  • 12:30pm - Welcome: Marion Cowden
  • Opening Speaker: Richard Gordon, Chief Executive at Manaaki Whenua Landcare Research and Chair of Science NZ
  • 12:50pm - Presentations from tertiary students 
    • Karan Banker, University of Auckland,  “The Future of Medicine: Bioprinting Organs” 
    • Grace Cowley, Otago University, “A Proposal for Geoengineering”
    • George Mander, Otago University, “The Case for Crickets”
    • Marie Potthoff, Massey University, “Dirty Dairy and the Slimy Solution”
    • Charlie Spicer, University of Auckland, “Augmented Reality - Education in the Digital Era”
    • Bronwyn Wilde, Auckland University of, “Food Chain – “Improving Food Safety Using Blockchain Technology”
  • 2.32pm - Presentations from scholarship winners
    • Eira Beverley-Stone, Rangiora New Life School, “Vertical Farming: Food for Thought”
    • Louis Davis, Scotts College, “Tutu, a solution to the feral goat problem”
    • Sophie Mance, Wellington High School, “Nanomedicine: a novel approach to treating non-communicable diseases”
  • 2:53pm - Afternoon tea in the area adjacent to the theatre entrance
  • 3.23pm - Presentations from secondary students
    • Amy Cooper, Samuel Marsden Collegiate School, “TMS:  The Mental Health Solution”
    • Danny Kivi, Wellington College, “Flexible Concrete for Quakes”
    • Germain Hellriegel-White, Mt Albert Grammar School, “The War on Superbugs and our Secret Weapon”
    • Maddison McQueen-Davies, Palmerston North Girls High School, “Solar Roads – The End of the Road for Fossil Fuels”
    • Shalin Shah, Mt Albert Grammar School, “Clean Meat:  The Answer to Dirty Farming”
    • Katrina Young,  Orewa College, “Epigenetics and Health”
  • 5.05pm - Presentations from scholarship winners
    • Viki Moananu, St Patrick’s College, “Helping the Homeless through predictive analysis”
    • Hana Te Puni, Palmerston Nth Girls High School, “Crayfish not just a delica-sea!”
    • Ellen Zhang, Mt Albert Grammar School, “The Answer is Smaller Than You Think: Nanotechnology”
  • 5:26pm - Presentation of Merit Awards and Scholarships
    Announcement of highly commended and premier awards: Dr Russ Ballard